Set on an extensive site, just off Rua dos Bragas is the Companhia Aurifícia. Founded in 1864 this was a metalworking factory making everything from gold jewellery to nails. The factory shut its doors for good in 2010 and the site was apparently sold for around 10 million euros in 2013.
Ten years on not much seems to be happening. The old factory is safe from the developers as it is something of a Porto icon. The quirky exterior houses a fascinating interior with much of the old machinery still in place.